Why WordPress?

by Andrew

When I decided to start a new blog, I decided to check out four different blogging sites: WordPress, Tumblr, Blogger and Posterous.  I had used the first three before in various instances and I had perused the Posterous site to see how it worked.

The first thing I scrolled through on each site were the available themes.  I do not have the technical expertise to build my own blog theme (maybe one day).  I always found the Blogger ones too basic and I never found one that I even wanted to try to adjust.  Tumblr had some wonderful options, but the site seemingly goes down every day.  I know that’s not the case, but it certainly goes down more than any other site I’ve used.  When my wife and I decided to start a blog after the birth of our first child, I was anxious to show her all the cool things we could do with Tumblr; after 25 minutes of downtime on the site, we decided to move onto WordPress.

I was intrigued by Posterous until I read the other day that it’s now a social networking site and not really for hard-core blogging.  I’ll take WordPress, for now.

